FontExpert 2007 changes

General discussion of the use of FontExpert font manager
Post Reply
Uroboros
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:22 am

FontExpert 2007 changes

Post by Uroboros » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:11 am

Recently decided to update to FontExpert 2007 and right away I notice few things that don't work like they did before and it's unfortunate

1. Why is it that in the main view the font the list of font names (in the appropriate font) appears with a box around the name? If the name is too long, or the font used it too big, the name just gets cut off.

2. In version 2006 I use to be able to right click a font folder in and add it to a group. Now it just said no fonts have been selected. Seems choosing fonts by choosing the folder fonts are in doesn't work like it did in 2006.

Any chance at least the latter will be fixed to work like it did before? Or am I just missing the way

TIA

Uroboros
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:22 am

Post by Uroboros » Sun Aug 19, 2007 2:01 am

Just to follow up my own post. I did figure out how to get issue #1 fixed. Now it looks good. :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:20 am
Location: Proxima Software

Post by admin » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:28 pm

Yes, I agree, it seems we should add a command to context menu for selected folder: Add to Group... I'll add this issue to our development list.

Currently, you can add all fonts within selected folder to a group with intermediate step: in Folders view select a folder with fonts, choose Add to Worklist, then go to Worklist, select all fonts and choose Add to Group...

Uroboros
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:22 am

Post by Uroboros » Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:01 pm

One other thing I noticed. This has to do with the characters table and the enlarged view you get when clicking over a character.

If the character view panel is wider than it is taller the enlarged view of the character fits inside the view without a problem. But if the character view panel is taller than it is wider, the enlarged view of the character is VERY large and gets cut off left and right.

I would guess that the window height is being used to determine how big the enlarged character is which doesn't work so well in the second example.

I hope my description makes sense.

The only other thing I noticed is that when the "fonts only" filter is turned on for the folder view ZIP files will still show up in the view. Not a big deal and the only reason I noticed is because there happen to be some ZIP files inside some font folders on my system.

Otherwise good program. :)

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:20 am
Location: Proxima Software

Post by admin » Mon Aug 20, 2007 3:09 am

Thank you! I've included both issues to our development list.

msleger
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:03 am

Another 2007 Glitch

Post by msleger » Sun Oct 07, 2007 9:59 am

In version 8 I could use the mouse wheel to scroll quickly through Font Manager task panes (font lists, font samples, etc). In version 9 the mouse wheel does nothing. I would really like to have this feature re-instated.


Admin: Mouse wheel is supported in version 9. Can you please describe in more details in which view the mouse wheel scrolling does not work (in FontExpert 2007 ver 9.0)?

msleger
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:03 am

Post by msleger » Sun Nov 11, 2007 10:32 am

Uroboros, how did you turn off the box around the font names? I haven't yet found a way to do this and I too want the box removed.

Uroboros
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 3:22 am

Post by Uroboros » Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:30 am

No...box is still there...I just adjusted the box width and font size so that they fit OK.

admin
Site Admin
Posts: 297
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:20 am
Location: Proxima Software

Post by admin » Sun May 04, 2008 9:34 am

This feature has been addded to the development list for the next version 10: an option to turn off the box around font sample (in the main view).

Post Reply